Featured Stories | Sports News

Source: Nikola Jokic Wins 2022 MVP for Second Straight Season

Nikola Jokic
FILE – Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic (15) dribbles the ball up the court against the Golden State Warriors during the first half of Game 2 of an NBA basketball first-round playoff series in San Francisco, Monday, April 18, 2022. Jokic has won his second consecutive Most Valuable Player award after a season in which he finished with numbers never before seen in NBA history, a person familiar with the decision told The Associated Press on Monday, May 9, 2022. (AP Photo/Jeff Chiu, File)

Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic has been voted the NBA’s Most Valuable Player for a second consecutive season, sources told ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski.

After winning MVP honors in 2021, Jokic climbed an even higher mountain finishing with career highs of 27.1 points and 13.8 rebounds per game. He also averaged 7.9 assists, eighth most in the league.

The Serbian Superstar also became the first player in NBA history with 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 500 assists in a season.

What’s more impressive is that Jokic won the award despite his all-star teammate Jamal Murray missing the entire season while recovering from a torn ACL and Michael Porter Jr. only played in  nine games because of a back injury.

Despite losing key players, the Nuggets were still able to make the playoffs as the West’s 6th seed before losing in five games to the Golden State Warriors in the opening round.

Jokic’s head coach was at a loss for words when talking about the big man.

“It’s just remarkable what he’s done,” Nuggets coach Michael Malone recently said of Jokic. “I know that I’m very biased, I admit it wholeheartedly — the MVP isn’t even a competition. There’s other great players, I’m not saying they’re not great players, but what Nikola Jokic has done this year, with this team, with everything that we’ve had to go through, is incredible. He was good last year and he’s even better this year.”

“The Joker” becomes the second straight winner to go back-to-back after Giannis Antetokounmpo won it in 2018-19 and 2019-20.

He reportedly edged out 76ers Center Joel Embiid and Lakers Forward LeBron James for the award.