College Sports | FAU Owls | Featured Stories | Sports News

College Football Playoff to expand to 12 teams in 2024

2022 CFP National Championship - Georgia v Alabama
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA – JANUARY 10: The National Championship trophy is displayed after the Georgia Bulldogs defeated the Alabama Crimson Tide 33-18 in the 2022 CFP National Championship Game at Lucas Oil Stadium on January 10, 2022 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

After years of debate the college football playoff is expanding.

The playoff will expand from four teams to 12 teams in 2024.

“We’re delighted to be moving forward,” CFP director Bill Hancock said in a statement. “When the board expanded the playoff beginning in 2026 and asked the CFP Management Committee to examine the feasibility of starting the new format earlier, the Management Committee went right to work. More teams and more access mean more excitement for fans, alumni, students and student-athletes. We appreciate the leaders of the six bowl games and the two future national championship game host cities for their cooperation. Everyone realized that this change is in the best interest of college football and pulled together to make it happen.”

According to the playoff, the first round will begin the week of Saturday, Dec. 21. The four quarterfinal games will take place at bowl sites, meaning the teams seeded Nos. 1-4 who get byes in the first round will not have the chance to host a home playoff game.

Under the new system, the Playoff field be composed of the top six conference champions among the 10 active conferences, plus six wild-card teams, guaranteeing a spot for a Group of Five team. The top four conference champions will get byes into the quarterfinals, while the remaining eight teams will play first-round games at the home stadiums of the higher-seeded teams.